Change

Leaflets_JasonWeaver_LoveMoreStudio

Leaflets– acrylic on canvas by Jason Weaver (2014)

They closed the doors
for the final time that day
to the ol’ café, you know

I worked there once, years ago
and it hadn’t much changed since the time I left, nor
much at all since well before I’d ever arrived —

a presence of permanence inside
those walls, I can yet recall a swell of laughter from behind the bar
— a grand echo of gufFAW-haw-haw-haw

and a steady clonk of heavy-heeled shoes that fall
upon the well-worn wood floorboards– the boss
tok tok tok tok tok tok tok tok tok tok tok tok

a rush–
through the open entry an endless crush
of patrons, and waiters, and busboys who hurry by
passing in and out, in and out, in and out, in

and out of a place that is no more, since
they closed the doors
for the final time that day to make way

for change.

by Jason Weaver, 2014

Original Artwork by Jason Weaver, Leaflets (2014), acrylic on canvas, 70x120cm

Poem dedicated to all of my friends and colleagues at the Van Dyke Café, whose closing played on my mind while painting this week. Ultimately, I wanted to convey a sense that change is neither good nor bad but a necessary component for our understanding of the world– repetition broken by change allows us to see events in new ways, to grow from them, to break free of them or to embrace them further. It is a sentiment that is both nostalgic for the past and hopeful for the future–and no amount of change of place can take away the friendships that we created during that time. Thank you all for the memories ~peace, Jason

LINKING up with DVERSE poet’s pub this Saturday Night— submitting this for a prompt on repetition– stop on by and join the fun!

47 thoughts on “Change

  1. Jason …. I was truly right about You when I said that You were and still are a “Good Kid” …. Your Poem and words wonderfully put together express all the feelings at that place You, Me and all the friends shared for the years we worked there …. I’m very glad I had the opportunity to meet You and to be part of that place which no longer will have its doors open for every one …. I like to finish by congratulate You for the nice words that emerged in a very special poem …. Sincerely …. JD (Ex~ Barkeeper at VD)

    • Jorge– thank you so much for your kind sentiment– truly, I remember how much I enjoyed working with you. In fact, in the poem, the sound of laughter from behind the bar is YOU!– I remember hearing your laugh so well. You have given me such a fond memory and now it is in a poem. I’m glad that you enjoyed it– and that we had the chance to share those wonderful times together with all of those amazing people– the smiling faces and embraces of so many great people, so many great memories. Thank you, Jorge~peace, Jason

  2. It is hard sometimes to witness change, especially when one has had pleasant memories of a place that is no more. It is good to preserve memories though in poetry, which will keep the place living on in your mind!

  3. first, i really like the use of sound…and the change in size of font gives it movement as well…its a sad story…to see those places that hold so much memory closed….seen far too many of them…change…for whose benefit i wonder at times…if its another big box store, ugh…

    • Thanks Brian– I wanted to use the sounds to give dimension to the memory. Unfortunately, I believe it will be some corporate conglomerate going in its place. But the wonderful thing that occurred in this process was an incredible reunion of friends and colleagues old and new– mostly on Facebook, but a reunioning nonetheless. Our Nostalgia was our reward. Thanks for coming by ~J

  4. Repetition works well here in this homage to a now empty place…where walls hold conversations and music within…or spirits of humanity..particularly in our younger days closed for change…nicely done.

    • When thinking upon this, repetition was what first came to mind– literally, every day at the cafe was the same routine, and what allowed most of us to feel connected over years was that the place had changed so very little. Repetition and routine then were a vital sense of my experience and the change from them allowed me to put perspective upon it. Thanks for the insight ~peace, Jason

  5. As you say, sometimes changes are neither good or bad, they just happen. I guess that when a place was popular, we’d like it to retain the same atmosphere. I enjoyed the wistful tone of your poem as well as it’s subject matter.

    • No doubt, there will be a hole where a place we all once knew and loved– and yet I can’t help but feel thankful for the memories that occurred there, as though I hadn’t truly appreciated them until the change was upon us. Thanks for coming by ~Jason

  6. First of all the painting is lovely.. such verdant bliss. I tend to both agree and disagree.. change can be sad in the sense that it create the loss… but on the other hand it is necessary.. change is also very much in what it change into… yet a shopping galleria.. or a chain restaurant.. not necessarily change that I would like…

    • Indeed, in the most basic sense, what likely will replace the old cafe is a change that most of us will not enjoy, and I’m finding most of the changes in our modern lives to be of such ilk– I’m so glad you enjoyed the painting, the forest greens are where my mind always roam to. Thanks for the discourse, ~J

  7. This is so sad, Jason. The walls & doors might have been gone today but the memories of friendship & laughter & cheers will forever stay for long & for sure. You made the whole piece palpable with the added movement of words & neat narration. Excellent—both the poem & painting. Smiles.

    • Thanks so much, kelvin. Indeed, there was much reunioning among old friends on the social networks over the closing that would not have happened had things just went on the same, and so, at least, change brought all of that out ~Jason

  8. for change. sums it up, doesn’t it?
    i love the formatting of “…tok tok…” creates an excellent illusion and reminds me of the Doppler effect. really cool!

  9. I love your thoughts on change … how it’s neither good or bad but a necessary part of life. And I love cafés (have written a couple of pieces on cafés myself). You create a lovely atmosphere with your words, and your painting is beautiful 🙂

  10. First, your paintings are so beautiful..I adore the raindrops on roses..I would love to pen a poem to that one..Your poem conveys the movement of change and the
    sadness it can bring when a door closes but, when one door closes I believe
    new opportunities arrive via another door. Wishing you peace & light..

      • now that I re-read my comment, I see how it could be read that way. No, you wrote a great poem! I was referring to the fact that things change. Good things may have taken place at a previous time, but when things change, they don’t negate the past good (or the past bad for that matter) – in fact, the NEW will bring about its own good and/or bad. So change, itself, is not good or bad. It just is.

        • I thought, what a clever wordsmith! ha

          And yes, I do concur– that, in fact, was something I had hoped to allude to in the post. Regardless of said outcome of ‘change’, the change mechanism itself (inherently neither good nor bad) is simply a necesary component, just the same as we need routine and repetition to define our parameters, we need change to expand and grow beyond them, repetition, then change….

          And thanks ever so much for coming back, although I promise I hadn’t taken critique personally 🙂 ~peace, Jason

  11. A nostalgic journey to a favourite meeting place, where laughter was heard and memories made. I loved this Jason, the structure – the tock tock sound of the shoes, the gufFAW-haw-haw-haw. I felt as if I was there. Let’s hope the change is for the better and not for the worst. Your painting is amazing! I thought it was a photograph. Thank you for sharing your talent.

    • I certainly appreciate your stopping by and commenting– it helps to know when things work and are enjoyed– I’m off to start a new painting and I’ll carry these good words with me when I get mired in self-pity and angst. A wonderful week to you ~peace, Jason

      • If we appreciate people and their talent, it is only right to tell them so. Glad I am following, too many do not reply back and we all need encouragement along the way. Good luck with your new painting and I wish you a wonderful week also. Jenny.

Please feel free to comment or offer critique

