Reconstruction Time Again

I built upon a hilltop
where the sun shone brightest.
But here I dried to brittle sticks,
and by the slightest wind,
I was reduced to bits.

by Jason Weaver, 2013

House_LoveMoreStudio_2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Author’s Note:  The above poem, 140-character semaphore, was inspired by Samuel Peralta’s prompt at dverse poetry blog, check it out here!  The photo was taken of a house here on the mountain top that was left to ruin. I couldn’t help feeling as though, in my own “home”, it is reconstruction time again. The title is the name of a Depeche Mode Album. 

36 thoughts on “Reconstruction Time Again

    • I’ve noticed that sad spells quite often coincide with periods of growth– personal, emotional, spiritual, artistic. This metaphor, the house that must rebuilt, seemed like the perfect expression to me, for me. I tend to use my art to not only reflect where I am at a moment in time, but also as a plan, as a building block, as a hope. To rebuild then in this sense becomes my purpose. The title to the poem reflects then, the hope: Reconstruction Time Again. Thanks so much for always stopping by with a kind word! peace~Jason

      • I turned 42 yesterday. The forties don’t seem as wise as they once did. Your semaphore reminded me of Icarus’ flight–too much sun, elevation, brightness–leads to the meltdown. The photograph is beautiful–the poem and picture work really well together. Enjoyed this!

        • So true of the 40s.

          I’m so glad that you reminded me of Icarus’ plight– I had forgotten the crux, the meaning, or perhaps hadn’t considered it fully. I oft feel this way, that “brightness leads to meltdown”– which is why I insisted that the house be burnt in light by the sun rather than rotted in drenching rains or so forth. It is this concept that intrigues me…thank you for your great feedback 🙂 ~peace, Jason

  1. Ah, “brittle sticks”–remarkable phrase, I can hear the snap and pop. I’ve probably already mentioned this, Jason, but you have a wonderful website. Everything here–word, photo, painting–is beautiful.

    • Thank you very much, nico. I find so much in this world to be beautiful and I just try to share what I see. Your encouraging words are greatly appreciated. Have a great weekend, J

    • Thank you Laurie– I was hoping it could be seen as that, that the simplicity of the words, the brevity, would lead to direct hearfteltness– no parsing words, just a simple and direct. Thanks for coming by ~J

    • Thank you Rosemary. I tend to let several different inspirations inform my pieces– the sentiment came first but needed words, a walk in the woods gave me the photo, the photo informed the phrases, the prompt gave it structure…and sharing it gave us this delightful connection. -Jason

  2. oh course my immediate thought went to the three little pigs…ha…you can tell where my mind is…smiles….interesting in how where we choose to build will determine the outcome…and there are def things to consider…

    • You found me out, Brian. No joke, I did use the fable of the Three Pigs as a sort of template– the house, the sticks, the ‘wind’ that blew it in– the more I had considered it, the more I realized the genius in a kid’s story and wanted to incorporate it.

      As for “where we choose to build” you are so right, there really is much to consider. ~peace, Jason

    • Thanks Ed. Brian mentioned that he thought first of the story of the Three Pigs, and indeed, once I began to write, to put my emotions to words, I could not help but consider their fable– that we are only as strong as the “house” that we build– mentally, spiritually, emotionally, physically…

      A wonderful weekend, to you. peace, jason

  3. This brings to mind the philosophy of regarding the body as a temple. Wonderfully-thought-out metaphor of the house for one’s life, of how even one built on a strong foundation can fall into disrepair…. but also the ever-present hope that one can again re-build.

    • I saw that ‘hope’ as an only option, really. If you accept the thinking that all of life goes in cycles, reconstruction time again means that I’ve been through this before– now just where to build this time? This piece is so very essential for me at this moment, as I’ve seen old ways of doing things come to an end, and a new version of me coming into being. I am fortunate enough to live somewhere with so much inspiration around me, so hiking up the mountain to take the photo of the abandoned house was exactly the impetus I needed to begin my own reconstruction. And of course, I got his poem out of it and some incredible thought-provoking conversation. Thank you so much for your comment and feedback. I was worried that the apparent simplicity of the poem, simplicity of structure, vocabulary, concept.. would be a detriment.

  4. this poem, the photograph, the metaphors reside close in this heart. i’ve built things but i’m happier renovating what has fallen into disrepair, forgotten or abandoned things that need a little attention to come back to life. i write about renewal and re invention a lot, a recurring theme throughout my life.

    tha k you for sharing this wonderful poem, *smiles*

    • I, too, have written frequently on renewal– I suppose this is the first time though, that I incorported the concept of “falling into disrepair”– that one must take charge of their own rebuilding, consider it wisely– that I need to remember the cylces and that reconstruction is an inevitable, nay desirable, part of the cycle.
      Thanks for coming by 🙂 ~Jason

  5. I read your philosophical deconstruction above. But the bits took me to the inner computer world of bits and bytes, to start all over from any “crash” – to rebuild with new apps (appreciation) and better protection from invasionary forces (read trojan horses and repeating viruses). So I thought it was an “ideal” twitterverse!!!!

    • An awesome analysis you’ve postulated there– so apt for the brave new world in which we’ve mired ouselves– from sticks to bits, and bits to bytes, from emotions to emoticons, from verses to viruses– perhaps there are more poems to digitize here…Thanks for the discourse, J

Please feel free to comment or offer critique

