Of Water

Rockwater_LoveMoreStudio

Today, she wakes
by the pale blue light of morn,
tired, and frail, and worn to the bone.

This day,
as she does all of her days now,
she will set foot to the hills,
her silver hair put in a scarf of silk,
and bearing the wounds of her years
in an old and rusted pail made of tin
that digs into the
thin of her weary hands.

She will walk to a spot by the stream
where the waters run
silent, and clean, and still.
It is here, in a spill of sun
that she will lift and pour
from her bucket of sorrow,
her soul in a wash of shallows,
knowing that tomorrow
there will be ever more.

by Jason Weaver, 2013

Thanks to Dverse Poet’s Pub for the inspiration, written in response to poetry prompt “body of water.” Come link up or check out what others are writing! ~peace,  Jason

33 thoughts on “Of Water

    • No I haven’t yet– but I’ll head there now. It fascinates me to no end how ideas can be in shared consciousness, how often I hear my own thoughts echoed in other poems. Thanks much~ Jason

    • Yes, there is sadness here. I think sometimes it important to examine the sadness, to honor it, since oft there can be so much of it. Thanks for stopping by for comment ~Jason

    • Thanks much, Heaven. Yes, the first verse is sparce, like those dreary waking moments…the 2nd is the weary climb, and the 3rd the catharsis, the crux. And yes, despite her tiredness, she is able to continue on! ~thanks always for the comments, Jason

    • Thanks Claudia!
      Indeed, it is through ritual– the daily cleansing in the stream — that brings solace. It is a lesson for us all– to bring our pains to the profound places where we may rid ourselves of them. Also, I had wanted to include the aged in this piece– life continues to be burdensome in old age even as our society as a whole tends to ignore the plight of the elderly. In fact, based on my experiences with elderly friends, life’s difficulties only increase as our bodies become more frail. We will all of us be that old person someday.
      Peace and happy week, Jason

  1. we all need a spot – to unburden – to release, the elderly no different from the young. Some lines just stand out to me and I like to tell the author – for me
    “It is here, in a spill of sun” – thank you Jason.

    • I drew upon my personal relationships with several different elderly friends for this piece. Despite their advanced age, they are still burdened with the same chores that I find myself so exhausting at times. What will it be like when I am 82 instead of 42? But more than a physical burden, we are a culmination of our hurts (as well as our joys)– the folly of youth is that we believe we have it “hard” and that life gets “easier”– yet it is the reverse, as the weight we must continue to carry– our “bucket of sorrows” only grows heavier with age.

      Thanks so much for your insightful and personal comment. Happy Monday ~ Jason

  2. you’ve highlighted her steadfast knowing here, which feels hopeful to me. I enjoy reading as she moves “silent and clean and still” through her tasks… it feels both meditative and symbolic of much in our lives.

    • I agree– you’ve picked up on something that even I wasn’t aware of– she IS knowing, not in just what she must do tomorrow, but in how to resolve her own burdens. In that regard, then, there is a hopefulness beyond the waters. Or perhaps she has learned this hopefulness IN the water, in her solace. Streams of water are so very meditative for me, even without “exercising” my meditative muscles– merely dipping in, dunking my head, washing off– I feel physically, emotionally, and spiritually “clean”.

      Thanks for the insightful comment 🙂 ~peace, Jason

  3. This really touched my soul as I view water as a form of healing. It brings me rest when I meditate by the river leaving my sorrows as I watch them float away and hoping tomorrow will bring a ray of sun. The second stanza really sums up part of the journey in life.

    • It heartens me to know that you were touched. I, too, view water as healing. When I swim in streams when hiking, I can feel the negativity leave as the good energy enters. May the sun shine on you tomorrow 🙂 ~ Jason

  4. There is incredible beauty in this. Your poetry and the woman remind me of Mary Oliver and that is the highest compliment I can think of. And the photograph is so good. I love living by a river. So healing.

    • Wow, Victoria, what a wonderful compliment. This poem is very special to me, as I have several elderly friends from whom I drew the likeness of this woman. I wanted to honor those friends, to let them know that I see them and feel them. The photo of the stream is of an incredible spot in the mountains, taken on a day when I went hiking alone, discovering the wonder of the world around. As ever, thanks for stopping by ~ Jason

Please feel free to comment or offer critique

