Ode to Cliché: Raindrops on Roses

Raindrops on Roses

Oh! Cliché–
How do I love thee?
Let me recount— like in the way
the wings of a bird in flight
ride upon a gentle breeze
— whispering–
through the leaves.
And much like a warm breath of Spring,
you bring a ray of sunlight
to brighten up a cloudy day
dulled in many shades of gray.
You are the pink in a sunset and
the early in a sunrise,
you are a song to my ears
and a sight for my sore eyes.

–Sigh–
What would I do without you?
Could I still cry a lonely tear,
like a raindrop that falls clear
upon a rose petal?
I fear I could not settle at all for less.
Yes, like a candle bright or
a shooting star in the dark of night
(or is it the thick? the edge?),
you make all my wrongs seem so right.

We are inseparable, you and I,
joined at the hip
once and forever
like a pair of ruby red lips
we come together and kiss
– softly–
And we can stand the test of time,
for like beating the dead horse,
you lend a hand to complete the rhyme.
It is cliché, of course,
and by any other name
it would sound –as sweet.

by Jason Weaver

I am submitting this piece to the OpenLink Poetry blog dversepoets here on WordPress, Tuesday at 3pm EST– a good chance to check out other poetry!

Author’s note: I edited 2 lines in this poem after the original post. First, I added ‘a’ before ‘candle’, which I had inadvertently left out. Second, I edited the Shakespeare reference “..by any other name..” as I had included ‘just’ “as sweet” wich is not how the quote goes, and quite frankly, even though it is meant as merely a reference and not a direct quote, ‘just’ just didn’t work well upon further readings.

22 thoughts on “Ode to Cliché: Raindrops on Roses

    • Thanks Brian. I had wanted to explore a little how easy it is to turn to cliché– what makes cliché, and to just use it for once and final all, so that I may ‘put it to rest’ so to speak. Although I suspect we will never be entirely through 🙂 ~ Jason

    • I agree! I referenced Shakespeare and Elizabeth Barrett Browning to make that point– that overused phrases did not start out that way– and perhaps they will not end that way 🙂 ~ thanks, Jason

Please feel free to comment or offer critique

