The Remains

Remains

Sleep ebbs in the early hours
stranding me in the shallows
of the familiar quiet, yet
my head rings of my own voice
tracing the wounds of words
the ridged scars sting
of barbs self-inflicted.

If only I had known
those words I’d spoken to you, my lacerative
tongue of poison-fire that I aimed at you,
wielded to maim you
to shame you
to break you
would maim me, and shame me
and break me, too.

Those lines have cut a thousand times,
hurts unhealed that remind
of how it could have been,
yes, would have been
if only I had known
that they remain
in regret set
ever in the quiet.

If only
I had
known.

8 thoughts on “The Remains

  1. very touching jason, and this is why we need to treat others the way we want to be treated and live life with NO regrets. Thanks hun this touched my heart and soul.

    • Thanks, Tina. I’m moved that you were touched. I’ve always ‘tried’ to live by that principle, yet in the folly of youth (and adulthood!) I’ve so many times said things that were out of place or hurtful, not only to friends but to strangers as well, in the hurry of every day life. Certainly, a lesson to learn!

      • Yes I totally hear ya and I am learning this lesson as well and I am trying to live my life the way God intended me too and I don’t ever want to regret things, and so I am on a journey to making things right. Big hugs to you for all you do to help others.

  2. I can very much relate to this- for my tongue at times can be sharper than any knife. It’s not easy to keep quiet sometimes though- I must say, because sometimes ppl really do deserve some type of smack (preferably verbal) lol I think the whole world should tune into your site J. I’m hoping that you are either in the midst of writing or have written a book of poems. My friend, you seriously should (if you haven’t already). Captivating form of expression you have. Much love.

    • I think the times that hurt me most are when I should have tried harder to understand, should have taken the high road– not because I am better than anyone else, but I can be a better ME– and YES, some people really do need a verbal smack if that’s what it takes!! I’m glad you can relate– and thanks so much for the encouraging words. I am using the blog as a workspace to push around my ideas to put together a book of picture-poems like the ones here someday. Much love in return~ J

    • Thanks, Leanne. This image has been with me for some time, and when I came back to it, I was still intrigued. How it simply remains…here in the sub-tropical Mata-Atlantica, things decay quickly, yet this leaf stays on.

Please feel free to comment or offer critique

