The Stream

In a cove
a mountain stream forms a pool
placid
surrounding rocks, vast and eternal
I stand here
naked
and stained
with conditioned fear
My bare feet on smooth-worn river stones
I leap into the bottomless
clear

My skin
burns frigid and
my heart
pounds
in my chest and head
My breath
escapes me in a
voice I’ve never known
my own

I immerse my body below the surface
where all boundaries between
me and the world, flesh and earth, mother and child
dissolve
cleansing the residue of a former self
free of shame
free of guilt
free of hate and anger
free of
fear

In a cove
a mountain stream forms a pool
placid
surrounding a man, giant and eternal,
and entirely
free

2 thoughts on “The Stream

  1. Jason, this is amazing self discovery and even more amazing choice of words and melody of it to describe incredable event of the man existence.

    • Thank you, Victoria. I feel compelled to share my experiences and am so glad to find those, like you, who can connect. When we feel alone, I hope these words and pictures can remind us that we are here for each other, together in this existence.

Please feel free to comment or offer critique

